Inserting Your Passion Into Your Life

Just in case it wasn’t obvious already, my oldest and most personal passion is musical performance. Living in a city with the tagline Live Music Capital should make it easy for me to get what I need, but I’m not always so sure about it. But I am a Broadway brat, and New York will always be my hometown.

Broadway Background

The first time I saw the lights of Broadway, I was about 9 or 10 years old. It was on the way home from seeing the Radio City Christmas Spectacular – a family tradition for a few years. In that moment, my gut and every nerve ending in my body reacted. It wasn’t about the lights themselves, but about what was lying beyond those lights. I could get lost in the incredible talent, music and stories of Broadway. I knew this even before seeing my first Broadway show. It is the only instance of love at first sight that I have ever experienced.

For my twelfth birthday, mom and dad bought tickets for the whole family to see Les Miserables. I was never the same again. From the moment that the curtain went up my entire life became about that stage. Through the years I’ve been on stage, back stage, promoting what’s happening on stage, and simple in the seats enjoying the story unfolding on the stage. No matter where I was in life, Broadway was my perfect escape. It was a place where I could laugh, cry, and feel changed. (Funny side note: I specifically became obsessed with Les Mis).

Growing From My Passion

Since musical performances are clearly my passion, I have always found my way into roles that reflected that – Broadway marketing, Carnegie Hall, etc. One day I realized that my biggest strength was not in my passion, but how I expressed it. I was writing and speaking about music with clarity and high energy, and the people listening or reading were picking up on that spirit and becoming my audience. I had created my own stage.

After moving to Austin, my participation in musical performance dropped to zero. It’s not because options are limited, but it’s because… well there is just no Broadway here. That is a terrible reason, I know.

So now what do I do? How do I re-inject my passion for musical performance back into my life? Passion for Music

 

 

 

 

 

 

