The Money Trap

My parents raised me to understand that one must earn money, rather than just receive it. Every penny I owned was earned (other than birthday checks from friends/family). When I completed a chore, mom gave me the value of that task. Vacuuming was worth $1 per room, whereas cleaning the windows was a flat rate of $2. Since I also received money from birthdays and other holidays, mom would bring me to the bank on a regular basis. She always reminded me that while I could cash some of my checks, I should put some of it in savings for a “rainy day.”  Many parents view money in an unhealthy way, so kids end up being spoiled and without any understanding of earning or saving money. I was lucky to have parents who emphasized the importance of both on me.

The Money Trap

As an adult, I have a strict budget that I live by and I have automatic transfers setup to support my savings goals. Now that I am in the first phases of starting a business, my awareness of finances is heightened. How will I pay for the development? What is my business model for earning money from this idea? It all ties into the roots that my parents set in my understanding of money.

So many small businesses trying to launch do not have a strong financial education – no plan, budget, investments, or awareness of spending. savings goals. Women in particular fall into many of the money traps. While I never think twice about this normally, one of my business advisers has pointed out that understanding money is a major issue in the US. Financial freedom takes a work, awareness and support from others.

2 thoughts on “The Money Trap

  1. I agree with you when you state that financial education is a problem in the US. At the end of the day there is no set standard in place on how to teach high school or college students how to manage their money. Think about this college students land an job and out of no where they have money. Ok great right…… not really because with no financial education you are never truly in control of your future, it is always controlled by do i have money? can i get a loan? and so forth.

    Great article Keep it Up

    • Thanks Philip for your response. It would be smart if kids as young as 9 or 10 were learning to understand how money works. That’s what I want for my future children.

Comments are closed.