Practice Practice Practice

Practice! That’s how you get to Carnegie Hall. I know, because I’ve been there before.

One of my many extra curricular activities is teaching people how to sing. Over the weekend I was giving a voice lesson to a young mezzo soprano, and I caught myself being a hypocrite. A good teacher always reminds students about the importance of practice. I gave my student a few specific exercises to practice once a day for at least 10 minutes. Meanwhile, I have barely been practicing music myself.

Like anything else, if you want to be good or improve upon your skill then it is vital to practice. In my case, I should be practicing music every single day. It is the one thing in the world that makes me feel complete. Music has steered me through some rough times and helped me grow as a person.

Do you know what happens when you practice? You build upon your skills, break through boundaries and reap the rewards. When you stop practicing the skills that you once developed begin to decay and may eventually fade away. First you lose your refinement, then your agility and finally the rude awakening that the ability is gone.

So what can you do to prevent this? Make the time for this skill and build it into your routine. For me it will be the same as what I preach to my voice students – at least 10 minutes each day in the morning. Building that 10 minutes into my morning routine will help me to commit to practicing.

Voice Lessons

Voice Lessons (Photo credit: formulapuff)

