Negative Thoughts

 

This week I’ve been thinking about negative thoughts and how they affect me. There are so many young women out there who never succeed – not because they are incapable, but because they lack self confidence. Where does this come from?

I was lucky to grow up in a loving and supportive family. From a young age I was told that I could achieve anything I wanted. Despite the positive reinforcement in my life, there have been plenty of moments when negative thoughts ruined potential success or joy. Too many women experience this same issue with negativity. How do we get past this to grow, change and succeed in our endeavors?

I read an article recently titled The 10 Phrases to Ban from Your Vocabulary from the blog Prolific Living. Two items on that list stuck out in my mind.

I’m just not good enough…” This is how I see my musical talent. Even though I love to sing and music is absolutely one of my greatest joys, I rarely feel like I am good enough. One of my new goals is to accept myself and admit that I’m rather talented.

There isn’t enough time for me to change…” I am definitely not the only person using this negative line. There have been several good opportunities that I shied away from because there was a big change or a situation that I felt stuck in. My second new goal is to be more open to the world – this includes people, opportunities, change, and my big dreams. I shouldn’t let anything stop me from doing the things I really want to do.

