Finding My Authentic Career – Know Yourself

 

Earlier this week I took a series of personality tests with hope that I may find a career to match me. My values, interests and passions are the driving forces behind finding my match.

My entire career has been all about marketing. Everything from using barter, events, street teams, print pieces, radio spots, digital ads, mobile, and integrated strategies. I’m a creative problem-solver, which makes me a great addition to any marketing team. However, I feel like I can do so much more and give back to my community.  And yet, I’m not in a rush to figure it all out. “I would rather wait a week for the right answer than hours for the wrong one” – Downton Abbey.

In order for me to be true to myself I must begin to admit some things:

  • I am highly driven and achieve the goals I set 90% of the time. However, I do not always set the most logical goals.
  • I absolutely love music, but I am not talented enough to truly make something of it.
  • Time after time I have been praised for my honesty, but I am still learning to be an effective communicator with those who My Name My Careerprefer things more sugar coated.
  • Though I’m a hard worker, I become lost in my work and lose sight of larger goals. 
  • At the office I am highly organized and know how to prioritize, but in my personal life and with my personal goals I am terrible at keeping up.
  • Working with children gives me such joy, but I know that I do not want to be a teacher – at least not a traditional classroom teacher.

Taking all of this into consideration along with my strengths (leadership, helping people and relationship building) leads me to believe that I need to make some changes in my life…and not just say that I will.

Change #1 – This week I begin volunteering with GEN Austin – The Girls Empowerment Network. – in the clubGEN program. My instincts tell me that a group of middle school girls are going to change my perspective on many things.

 
2 thoughts on “Finding My Authentic Career – Know Yourself

  1. I’m in the same boat, wondering what my career is meant to be as a manifestation of my passion and serving others. Have you read The Passion Test? It helped me get clarity and forced me to narrow down all my ideas. I think you’re on the right track though with taking action by volunteering. Just try different things and see what feels best.

    • Thanks! I have not read The Passion Test, but I will check it out. Hopefully, the small changes I make now will allow me to take some leaps.

Comments are closed.